remove ad

ericboy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"Remember me when you clinch your movie deal\" - Placebo

My drummer was at a bar the other night while one of the local rags were having a staff party. He ran into a friend of his who writes for the paper and said, "Hey, you should do a story on my shit." By shit, he was referring to the two bands that he plays in and the booking agency that he runs. Both a little drunk and prone to honesty, the friend proceeded to berate him with allegations of how ridiculously horrible our band is. He insisted that we sound like P.O.D., which is a horrible excuse for a rock band if ever there was one. He went on to say that all of the bands booked by the agency were P.O.D.-style bands and that he couldn't stomach going to any of the shows.
I appreciate his honesty, but I most certainly don't agree. Whereas my band is not doing anything fundamentally different or cutting-edge, we're certainly not aspiring to emulate one of the shittiest bands to ever tote themselves as "hard rock." We have a sound that we've created on our own, culminating influences and putting our own personal interests into the music. We love our music. At least, I know that I do. I would very happily put a Worth Every Scar disc in my CD-player and "Rock out" to it. I think we're high-energy, heavy-grooving, and intelligent. I think our music is unique in that only we play it. The sound and style can fit into a genre, but no other band is going to play "Failure" or "Hurt" and sound like us. We're unique in the way that each individual person is unique. There will never be another Pope John Paul II or Mitch Hedberg or Worth Every Scar. We're the only one. So as much as I respect the honesty and no-punches-pulled input of my drummer's "Friend", he can just go fuck right off. I don't have time to listen to negative criticism. Constructive, yes. Just plain mean, fuck it.
The plays have gone splendidly, with the first two performances done and in the books. The show came together at the last possible moment and has been holding strong ever since. I am quite pleased.
I went to Mexico yesterday and toured the Fox Baja studios. There were no "hot sets", and it was more of a museum than a studio, but we still had a great time. We went to a restaurant that overlooked the sea and drank Dos Equis while eating authentic Mexican food. All in all, it was pleasant. Then we sat in traffic at the border for two hours. The San Diego border between Mexico and Los Estados Unidos is The Busiest border in the world!! I also love how the Border-Patrol guard will ask "What were you doing in Mexico today?" as if you were a dog that had gotten out of the yard. I kept expecting him to add "How many times have I told you not to go to Mexico? Do you think I say these things just to hear myself talk? You just wait until your father hears about this." So we answered; we'd been touring the Fox Studios in Baja. Without fail, they always say "Huh?" as soon as you've answered their question, as if to see if your story changes when you go to repeat it. You know; the story you just gave him two seconds ago! I also love "What are you bringing back from Mexico?"
Uh, leftovers. Would you like some Carne Asada steak? I know I'll never get back to it. I'm just so busy. He-he. Hang head, look bashful and ashamed.
All in all, it's been a fun week and I'm excited about getting back to work with the band.

3:00 p.m. - 2005-04-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

angryagain
lostwou
nanoericboy
starke-
nanobetty
less-than3
iluvtunes
ensie
margot08
chickenpie
istoba
shallowiris
inkedgal
revisions
cause-ofyou
veryraven
lovemetwice