remove ad

ericboy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"So this is odd / The painful realization / that all has gone wrong\" - Dashboard Confessional

I talked to my dad on the phone this afternoon. He called about 11:30am and we talked for a little over half an hour. It was nice. Portions of the conversation seemed strained, but mostly it was very casual. I didn't speak with apprehensiveness or reverence or petulance. I spoke as I would to a friend with whom I am comfortable. I told him "You sound happy. I'm surprised; mildly disturbed, but pleasantly surprised. I'm glad that you're happy." I never thought I'd say that to my dad. The tone is almost too casual, like I'm judging him or patronizing him. But I wasn't; I was genuinely pleased to hear him sounding happy.

I meant to leave the house right after that and get started on my Wednesday activities, but realized with growing horror that I had no pants. So I'm washing clothes and reading a book. It's funny that I have to be forced into relaxation. Dad was wrapping up the conversation and I said "Yeah, I've got some things I've got to get to, also."

"I thought you were taking it easy?"

"I was, waiting for your call. Now I've got to go do stuff."

It took a random act of pantslessness for me to breathe out at a normal pace and open up my book again.

Oh, well, my clothes are dry. Time to get to it!

2:32 p.m. - 2004-08-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

angryagain
lostwou
nanoericboy
starke-
nanobetty
less-than3
iluvtunes
ensie
margot08
chickenpie
istoba
shallowiris
inkedgal
revisions
cause-ofyou
veryraven
lovemetwice