remove ad

ericboy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"I am the son / and the heir\" - The Smiths

So, in an effort to keep me unpredictable, I have Wednesday and Thursday off next week rather than the usual Tues/Wed combo. Peachy! Now I can't go and see Teresa on Monday night. This sucks!

So, to finish the Jeff story, Tuesday I slept until three p.m., and then took a bus to meet them downtown. Jeff and Kim and I kicked it around there for awhile and then went back to my place to listen to music and stuff. Kim wanted to hear the Moonshine Junkie stuff, and so I played her the show from November that had "Writing on the Wall" and "Anywhere" on it, which Jeff hadn't heard. They both liked the songs a lot and offered their condolences for my being kicked out of the band. Then we went to Lestat's to watch stand-up comedy, which wasn't all that funny. We ended the evening at the Ould Sod and had a few drinks and they brought me up to date on all my Texas peeps. There was a lot of planning for the trip to come, and everyone is uber-excited about it; me, mostly.

Wednesday, I woke up at 10:00am and bummed around the house, did my taxes, then Jeff called and came to pick me up. We ate at Chipotle and then zoomed off to L.A. We got into town and found a great parking spot just off of Hollywood Boulevard. We wandered up and down the "Boulevard of Stars" and gawked at the names set in stone beneath us. We ducked into the several shops and even toured the Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum. We ate at a Pizza and Gyros shop and Kyle met us there. He gave us demos from his current band, Deadsett, and it sounds pretty bitchin'. We all went to Amoeba Records and wandered around awe-struck for a few hours. I found a Shudder to Think CD that I'd been looking for months to find for only five bucks. We all spent way too much money and then piled back into the car. Jeff and Kim were tired, and I had to be at work in the morning, so we dropped Kyle off at this car and headed back to S.D. I got home at about a quarter to two and talked to Bryen for a bit and then went to bed.

The next day I woke up at 7:00am and it was off to work. Jeff and Kim went to Mexico and bought souvenirs. It was best that way, since I had recently lost my wallet and didn't have my I.D. to get back into the States. They met me when I got off at five, sporting a new haircut (finally) and we had dinner at In-n-Out, which they thoroughly enjoyed. We went back to their hotel and hopped in the hot tub, which was as happy to see us as we were to see it. We lay still in the bubbling waters, feeling relaxed while being slowly drained of all our energy and, eventually, the ability to breathe. I recommended a few courses of action for the evening, but they were too worn out to do much else. I can't blame them; I was exhausted, myself. Jeff took me back to my house and we said our goodbyes. Now it's back to e-mail and the occasional phone call. It pales in comparison to being together, finishing each others' sentences (even if it is with non-sequitir mumbling) and voicing over each others' kung-fu stylings. But, hey, what are you gonna do?

Friday was up at 7:00am and working again. While Jeff and Kim were in a thick-ass vessel departing from the ground, I was trying to figure out what the hell was going on with our Classical listening stations at Border's. And then it was over.

I got off work and came home to clean my room and then myself. At 8:45 or so, guests started to arrive for the little shindig that Bryen and I had planned. It was a BYOB and pot-luck event, but there was a lot more B than luck brought along. One person brought chips-n-salsa, another some cookies, and there was an assload of alcohol. No bother, here; that's how I get down. We had a good turn out, and a DJ, to boot. Everyone had a good time, except one guy from work who came by too early. The last two guests left at five-thirty in the morning. There was no police activity, no angry neighbor calls, and only a few spills, and they all occurred in my room. Hmmm? Odd. All in all, it was a smashing success, without, of course, having anything smashed. The next day, it was back to work. And again the next day. And this is now.

9:36 p.m. - 2004-03-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

angryagain
lostwou
nanoericboy
starke-
nanobetty
less-than3
iluvtunes
ensie
margot08
chickenpie
istoba
shallowiris
inkedgal
revisions
cause-ofyou
veryraven
lovemetwice