remove ad

ericboy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"There is no choice but to confront you / to engage you / to erase you\" - Tool featuring Henry Rollins

There's good news in the hood:

At Border's this morning, mention was made of a position open within the store for a temporary training supervisor. The original training supervisor, Ed, a man whom garners much respect from me, hurt himself on the job and will be out for an indeterminate amount of time. We seek not to replace him, but merely to have someone stand-in for him while he is out. The prerequisites were that the applicant be in good standing and already be at supervisor level, or so I thought. My music mangaer, Shawn, called me to the back room at about a quarter to four and asked me if I was going for the position. I kind of stepped back a second and looked shocked.

"Can I?" I asked.

"Well, yeah. I mentioned to Gail (the store manager) that you'd be great for the position and she said that you hadn't said anything about it."

"I thought that you had to already be a supervisor."

"No. It's a supervisor position. You'll become a supervisor. It's a promotion."

"Well, then, Hell yeah; I want it."

"Well, go tell her."

So I met with Gail and she asked me a few questions. I'm not really in good standing, what with all my tardy occurrences from back in the day. I've passed out of probation (treading on thin ice) and moved back into final warning (don't fuck up), so that's an improvement, but still not totally in the clear. I will be in a matter of a week or two, so that looks promising. When she asked me why I was interested in the position, I told her it's because I plan on sticking around and I may as well move up if I'm going to be there for awhile. Not to mention, I think I'd kick ass at it. She seemed really pleased to hear of my interest, and now I need to talk to Jim about it. I'm not sure what Jim's opinion of me is, or if he even has one, but I'm pretty sure he knows that I kick ass around there and I know my shit. We'll see what happens. I feel pretty good.

Last night, I bought my plane ticket to go back to Texas from May 27th to June 3rd, and I can't fucking wait. It's going to be so great to see all of my friends and family. I miss them all so much. And I got a good price, which is definitely cool. Changing the departure date from Saturday to Thursday helped a lot.

Still no word on the band thing, but I'm patient. It helps that I have a tentative interest in it. I'd be totally stoked to sing for these guys, but if I don't get it, it's not as if I'll curl up and die. I'll just do something else. No big deal.

I checked out Kyle's band, Deadsett, on the web and the site looks great. The songs play as soon as you enter and they sound fucking bitchin'. I'm pretty sure that this one could take him all the way. The pictures look cool, too. I'd like to check them out sometime, and I suppose I will.

Last night I bought a CD for a dollar from Border's. It's a self-titled release by a band called TEXT, which is comprised of 4 of the 5 members from the revolutionary punk/hardcore band Refused. I haven't heard the whole thing yet, but it's already proved to be a good investment. The very first track is the four members yelling out words in Latin. It's fucking harrowing, so I put it in my CD player/alarm clock. It wakes my ass right up without any fuss. So, basically, I got an alarm upgrade for a dollar. Not a bad deal, especially since I'm so concerned with getting to work on time, as I have more riding on it.

I guess that's it, really. Oh, Henry Rollins is doing another spoken word show at 4th and B on April 17th, which I will definitely be going to. He's the fucking man.

7:04 p.m. - 2004-03-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

angryagain
lostwou
nanoericboy
starke-
nanobetty
less-than3
iluvtunes
ensie
margot08
chickenpie
istoba
shallowiris
inkedgal
revisions
cause-ofyou
veryraven
lovemetwice