remove ad

ericboy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"You're so far away / Doesn't anybody stay in one place anymore?\" - Carole King

I know what you want. You want my personal insight on the Hurricane Katrina Situation. The reaction to this national event that could be phrased and worded by me and only me. Okay, you want it? Here it is:
This is fucked!
Yeah, that's right. That's all I've got. This is the effect of a "Universal Tragedy". It affects us all the same way. I'm not here to point out blame or expostulate on what might have been; that's not what I feel right now. What I feel is that America was totally fucked by water and wind.
Now, here's the thing that weirds me out: There are thousands of bodies floating past windows where people I've known have poured countless drinks down their jovial throats, buildings where life echoed off the walls have been stripped to skeletons or dashed entirely, communities that were witness to quiet homes and peaceful streets are underwater, and the culprit of it all is WATER and WIND. What the fuck?
We're worried about diseases incubating in a cave in Kenya, just waiting for a carrier to unleash them on the world; we're worried about the girl or guy dancing next to us who wants to give us Herpes, Gonorrhea, Syphillis, and HIV; we're worried about murder, plane wrecks, train wrecks, car wrecks, faulty architecture dropping ceilings on our heads, anthrax, terrorist bombings; we're even concerned about melanoma and dangerous UV rays from the sun.
But water and wind?
And what natural killers have claimed the most lives since December of 2004? That's right; water and wind.
And People magazine has even stopped to take notice, running a very long and informative story on this recent tragedy... along with their list of Best and Worst Dressed of 2005. And you have to question why I'm so disgruntled. Why I think more than half the world is completely incapable and undeserving of making their own decisions. This is how dictators and antichrists are created. Being forced to watch you mindless idiots meader around and bump into one another as you wait for the latest pop culture magazine to tell you how to feel.
Okay, maybe I went too far. Maybe I've just had enough. Furthermore, I'm sick of the latest ad campaign from L.A. Gear. There's a poster just outside my work that shows a picture of a lovely new L.A. Gear women's sneaker (I think it was the "Alexis" model), and the text above it says, "Next time you walk all over a man, look good doing so." What is this? L.A. Gear: Shoes for bitches?
Okay, a little comic relief at the end. See, I'm also capable of turning away and momentarily forgetting, diverting, or distracting.

4:19 p.m. - 2005-09-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

angryagain
lostwou
nanoericboy
starke-
nanobetty
less-than3
iluvtunes
ensie
margot08
chickenpie
istoba
shallowiris
inkedgal
revisions
cause-ofyou
veryraven
lovemetwice