remove ad

ericboy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Love Theme to the Movie that I'll Never Make

I haven't updated this thing in a while because, to be frank, I don't have shit to say. As a writer, I have two rules:
1. Don't write when you don't have anything to say.
2. Don't go too long without writing.
Sometimes, rule #2 cancels out rule #1 and you get redundant shit like this:
My head has been empty as of late. I went to a party and felt awkward and alone. I met a girl who had a boyfriend. We didn't have to worry about flirting or that overbearing sexuality thing hanging in the air while we talked. We talked for two hours about philosophy and classical music and shamanism. It was great.
At work today, I sat outside and watched people walk and talk to each other. I saw a camraderie that I think I don't feel enough.
After work I went to see Million Dollar Baby which is every bit as good as everyone says it is. When it started, I was like "Yeah, alright, this is good." Then towards the middle, I was like "This movie is good. Nothing phenomenal, but good. Consistent." Then it turned into, "Okay, I really don't think this movie holds any surprises. I don't think it's going anywhere. I mean, it's a great character piece and all, but I would have liked some--"
And then the movie knocks the fuck out of you. And then it takes your heart and squeezes it to a rhythm that is deliberately off from your natural heartbeat. So it's like beat-squeeze-beat-squeeze-beat-squeeze-squeeze-beat. And you're sitting there with your face in your hands and you're watching this movie and you love, absolutely love, the people on the screen and your heart is going into palpitations and you feel like you're going to die.
Then it's over.
Seriously, it's that good. Go see it.

1:53 a.m. - 2005-02-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

angryagain
lostwou
nanoericboy
starke-
nanobetty
less-than3
iluvtunes
ensie
margot08
chickenpie
istoba
shallowiris
inkedgal
revisions
cause-ofyou
veryraven
lovemetwice