remove ad

ericboy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"So this is the new year / and I don't feel any different\" -Death Cab for Cutie

Everything has been moving by at such a fast clip since the new year began. 2005: stretching before me like an empty canvas, inviting and vulnerable. I feel pretty optimistic about the whole thing. To begin, I'm in a play at the FaultLine that starts this coming weekend, my band has three shows booked for January, and I picked up a book on breaking into voice-over work. The script for "Dancing Nancies" will be done by Thursday night and the sketch comedy awaits a vigorous polishing before it's ready. Also, I might be auditioning for a film this weekend.

The band and I have been working hard to crank out new songs. The first five that I wrote were all pretty narrow-minded "Bitch you Broke my Heart" songs. The next three were more about personal and social victories over injustice and ignorance. The next one was about zombies. The next one was about a junkyard dog. And the last two have been about my personal family experiences. Rather an odd body of work, if you ask me.

Here's the lyrics for the new song that we'll be playing at the gig on Friday. (The other new song isn't quite finished yet, as we just started writing it tonight.)

Untitled (analyze)

How do you sleep now?
The moon is slipping down
but the stars aren't all accounted for
everything in its right place
the only thing missing is you here now
I wish that things were different
but they're not
I can't forgive you this time
I hope you understand, my brother
Most of the time I find comfort in hating you
'Cause it hurts too much to think of
the missing pieces that I still love

Even though it's still quite cacophonous and angry, it's one of the nicest songs we have. I hope people like it.

12:48 a.m. - 2005-01-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

angryagain
lostwou
nanoericboy
starke-
nanobetty
less-than3
iluvtunes
ensie
margot08
chickenpie
istoba
shallowiris
inkedgal
revisions
cause-ofyou
veryraven
lovemetwice