remove ad

ericboy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"People thought that they were just being rewarded\" - Postal Service

Oh, how I wish I still knew the password to my Guestbook account, so that I could continue the arguement started there. Yes, Danny Carey from TOOL is a phenomenal drummer (and, yes, that's the same adjective that I used last time I was referring to really good drumming), but the more that I listen to Sunny Day Real Estate's diary the more that I realize how utterly and definitely amazing William Goldsmith's drumming is. I used to be asked by music critics who I thought was the best drummer back when I had a limited knowledge of music. They would quote from Rush or Blue Oyster Cult while I would try to vouch for TOOL (which, admittedly, has the best rhythm section in rock music) and Pantera. Let's face it: Vinnie Paul is the bomb-shiznizzell. But this was all before I heard SDRE's diary, which appealed to me as a plastic circle of shit when I first heard it. But as time wore on, I realized how utterly great it was. Everything about that record is notable. And the drums (coupled with the bass, though they can't receive a vote for consistent rhythm section, though, now that I think about it, neither can TOOL, since Justin Chancellor is a recent addition to the band) are unparalleled on that CD. They've set the tone, continually, for what drumming should do for me. William has proved himself time and again, unless you count The Fire Theft, wherein he really wasn't able to flex his stuff.
Look at me, now. What am I doing? I'm no fucking music critic. I'm a drunk asshole who needs to get some goddamned sleep. The day has been long, though I have caught up on the much-needed sleep.
To whoever did leave that message on my Guestbook, I can understand your point of view, yet am afraid that I must differ with you. I like TOOL as much as the next guy, but SDRE is better for drumming. It's painful, but, hey, the truth hurts.

2:07 a.m. - 2004-11-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

angryagain
lostwou
nanoericboy
starke-
nanobetty
less-than3
iluvtunes
ensie
margot08
chickenpie
istoba
shallowiris
inkedgal
revisions
cause-ofyou
veryraven
lovemetwice