remove ad

ericboy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"But they don't give a fuck about you / like I do / like I do\" - A Perfect Circle

Didn't I promise a story today? Well, I'm a lying sack of crap. Get used to the idea.
I went and watched Garden State this evening by myself. A damn good movie, I'd have to say. It was the little things that Zach Braff expostulated upon in the moments between the intersection of social circles that particularly appealed to me. Like when he's standing in the doctor's office and looking at the wall full of plaques that bleeds onto the ceiling out of necessity. It's the little things...
The ending, though? He de-boards the plane, having tied up none of his proverbial "loose ends", and he and Natalie Portman share a beautiful kiss in the airport as two young people in love without a plan on the cusp of something far greater than they could ever understand? It seemed a bit too utopian to me, and, well.... fake. Wrong. Surreal. Maybe it's the jaded romantic in me, but he seems to form a lot of my opinions these days.
I still feel empty. Even moreso, due to the pleasant, glass-is-half-full picture painted by the film. I stalked out of the theater, lamenting the fact that I didn't throw my chair at the screen when the credits rolled, and hoofed it to The Theater. Once there, I learned that yet another role had been cut from the problematic script known as "Commander of the Universe" and I had annexed lines from another character entirely. Surprisingly, the dress-rehearsal went well. We'll see the true extent of my abilities when the show runs before an audience tomorrow.
For now, I'm slightly intoxicated and filled with the need to urinate. Time to go and gather my thoughts on that story...

12:42 a.m. - 2004-11-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

angryagain
lostwou
nanoericboy
starke-
nanobetty
less-than3
iluvtunes
ensie
margot08
chickenpie
istoba
shallowiris
inkedgal
revisions
cause-ofyou
veryraven
lovemetwice