remove ad

ericboy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"Everything in its right place\" - Radiohead

I don't know what to say. I did a search for diaries from Conroe, Texas, my hometown, and a handful showed up. Most of them were already closed down, so why even display them as viable options? That's just mean.

I am so exhausted and I'm not sure why. It feels like I'm coming down with something. My throat has been scratchy since Saturday afternoon. I was going to get together with Chris this week and work on some music but I don't think I'll be able to. Saturday night, after the show, I had several of the cast members and their friends over to the house for drinks. The last of us stayed up until four o'clock in the morning or so. I was pretty wasted by the time I passed out in my bathroom. I don't think I actually saw everyone out before that. Oh well. We had fun, talking and drinking and whatnot. There are two more performances of this show and then I'm off to Texas for a week to carouse with my homies and family. I can't wait. I miss them so much, and it's been a year and a half since I've been back. That's a long time to go without seeing my mother, who is the most important person in the world to me. I'm a momma's boy!

Some of my co-workers and I are planning a weekend camping trip, and I think that will be a lot of fun. I don't hang out with enough of them outside of the office, so it will be a great time to actually get to know these people and speak candidly about the things that we fear to while at work. Which isn't much, mind you; we're pretty hard-core in the back offices and stock rooms. I enjoy the comfort that everybody feels at work; where we pretty much say what we want and very few people get offended. One guy kept calling me a "dousche" today. That was rather odd.

I picked out some promo cds yesterday; a few classical titles, Guided By Voices' latest release, and Starsailor's Silence Is Easy. Teresa talked them up on occasion and I place a lot of trust in her musical tastes so I figured "Why not?" I played it while preparing some music product to put out on the floor and I'm glad I did. I hate it! They are bad, but in a really impressive way. One gets the impression that they put in a conscious effort to be that horrible. They sound kind of like The Verve with less construction to their compositions and more repetition to the lyrics. Each verse was three or four words long, so the bridges and choruses came more frequently, giving the listener a sour dose of redundancy. I place no blame on Teresa, as she and I don't see eye to eye on music 100% of the time and she's more than allowed to have her opinions, but there will be no Starsailor for this guy. If they make her happy, then they have a purpose on this earth, and that's good enough for me. As long as something has its place then there's no reason to spurn it or insist on its destruction. That's why I think racism, frivolous lawsuit abuse, and Andrew McCarthy can all go to Hell and burn for eternity and then some. I, too, am entitled to my opinions. Oh, and while we're at it, why don't we throw Nora Roberts, Danielle Steele, and Eric Clapton's latest record in there, too! The Robert Johnson songbook is a hideous mockery of music; all misogyny and poor grammar and more unintelligible gibberish than you can shake a badly-tuned guitar at. But, maybe that's just my opinion...

8:09 p.m. - 2004-05-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

angryagain
lostwou
nanoericboy
starke-
nanobetty
less-than3
iluvtunes
ensie
margot08
chickenpie
istoba
shallowiris
inkedgal
revisions
cause-ofyou
veryraven
lovemetwice