remove ad

ericboy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"Choked on society / laced with cyanide, oh / we'll wait for time to turn around\" - Sunny Day Real Estate

So, Friday, I wake up at seven am and go to work. I'm there for nine hours, then I hop two busses, walk nine blocks, and perform the show for our first audience. The crowd was small, but they really seemed to enjoy the entertainment and that was all I needed to take it over the top. Reservations are set for tonight, and it looks like there will be a full house.

I leave the theater after it's all said and done and walk the nine blocks back to the bus stop. For a good twenty minutes or so, there is no bus. I assume that this trend will continue, so I opt to hoof it. I think food will be a good idea since I hadn't had any at that point or much sleep the night before (surprise, surprise). So I go to Chipotle, but they're closed. The only thing open is JBX, the bastardized, upscale reinvention of Jack-in-the-Box. I'd had the fondest hopes to avoid that place but hunger won in the end. I had a burger and some fries and it was good. The first bite of the burger was surprisingly flavorful and genuine, causing me to temporarily forget that I was at a fast food restaurant. Oddly enough, each subsequent bite had no flavor at all, except for the last one, which was also peculiarly good. Wierd.

So I walk back to Borders; no particularly difficult feat, merely unpleasant as I have to walk along the 163, where they prefer that you don't walk. I get to work and pull another eight hours and then hop a bus and come here to write this.

At the overnight, some other associates had brought CDs to play overhead. I hadn't the same gift of foresight, so there was no reprieve in the rotation. The selections were a couple of jazz pieces and some easy-listening, lounge-type standards. Now, I love jazz. Just hang around me for any extended period of time and I'll cram it down your throat, I love it so much. But this music was just BAD!!! And I mean really bad. It made me sad, like my heart ached, because it was so bad. I wanted to tear my own face off and eat it; that's how bad it was.

Maybe it was my fatigue factoring into my distaste for the music, but I was floored by how appalled I was at the music. I mean, nothing's THAT bad. But, to me, at the time, that music was. I wanted to kill everyone in the room. I had to take frequent breaks to compose my sanity.

So that's my sad jazz story. Aside from that, Friday turned out to be okay, so maybe the spell is broken. Or maybe it'll pick up again today and follow a pattern rather than alternating days. Who knows? Wish me luck.

8:29 a.m. - 2004-04-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

angryagain
lostwou
nanoericboy
starke-
nanobetty
less-than3
iluvtunes
ensie
margot08
chickenpie
istoba
shallowiris
inkedgal
revisions
cause-ofyou
veryraven
lovemetwice