remove ad

ericboy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Fire Theft... Live!

Last night Teresa and I went to Soma to see The Fire Theft touring with Grandaddy and Saves the Day. Though I like Saves the Day, we left after The Fire Theft finished their six-song set so that we could eat. I was hungry, her feet hurt, it was hot in there. All in all, it was best to just go.

We'd spent most of the day in transit from one place to another. We had food, ice cream and smoothies, we hit a record store, we made a day of it.

We got to the venue and I saw a flier for an upcoming show featuring Slipknot, Chimaria, and Fear Factory. Fear Factory? I thought they called it quits? I need to tell Heath this as soon as I remember. So, I bought a groovy Fire Theft shirt, which I'm wearing now, and we went in to the venue.

Soma is a hollowed-out theater and a pretty cool place to see a show. It reminded me of the International Ballroom in Houston where I saw Tool, Ministry, the Deftones, Gwar and The Misfits, to name a few. Only Soma is smaller, which is no problem. When seeing a band that you feverishly enjoy, smaller is better; more intimate.

The opening band, Dios, came out on stage with a total lack of professionalism. I'm pretty sure they're local or something. The singer said that they'd broken some gear and so their show would sound a bit off-kilter, and then they kicked into their set. They sounded really good. Their songs all followed the same songwriting pattern and the drummer looked bored out of his mind, but they played a really good set and the crowd, which didn't even welcome them to the stage, perked up and showed respect as they exited. They finished the set with a cover of The Pixies' "Where is my Mind?" It was awesome.

In the interim, roadies started to set the stage for The Fire Theft. I saw a man with closely-shaved dark hair carry a drum rig onto the stage. I pointed him out and told Teresa "That's William, the drummer." She wasn't convinced right away and I metioned something about him having a drummer's build. She nodded, not entirely sure if she should question my sexuality, and we watched the stage set. Finally, Jeremy came out, the guy who'd been tuning the drums stayed on stage (it was William), and the show started.

Jeremy has SO much fucking energy when he plays. By the end of it, as he's bobbing his head and wailing on his guitar, a silhoutte before harsh red lights, you can see sweat flow off the bridge of his nose en masse. He worked himself into a frenzy up there, belting out the words and feeling every one. His voice was absolutely amazing, the way it seems to feed back on itself and intensify with additional layers of sound. Teresa was mesmerized, I was mesmerized, it was mesmerizing.

They didn't play any Sunny Day Real Estate songs and I suppose that I shouldn't have expected them to. It would have been cool, but I got over it. All in all, it was a good show.

Today, we ate at the City Deli and I did laundry. Woo-hoo, what a fascinating existence. I suppose what I'm trying to say is run, don't walk, to your nearest record store and buy The Fire Theft. Go, now!

7:47 p.m. - 2004-03-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

angryagain
lostwou
nanoericboy
starke-
nanobetty
less-than3
iluvtunes
ensie
margot08
chickenpie
istoba
shallowiris
inkedgal
revisions
cause-ofyou
veryraven
lovemetwice