remove ad

ericboy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rock the Casbah (x2)

if you would crack my shell

then you would see i'm alive, as well

and my vigor for the taste is as real as yours

but you won't chisel me

you only accept what you want to see

and i guess that's why you think i'm such a bore

in the space between my arms

...there's only space

traced upon the canvas behind my eyes

...there's your face.

Today has been long, and I suppose that I should start with last night, since the time between was merely the blink of an eye or two.

We left Border's at 12:45-ish and went home. Since the Employee Appreciation Weekend is in effect right now, with 40% off books and CDs and 25% off DVDs, Bryen and I each had an assload of shit to go through and tear open like Christmas morning.

We left the apartment with the intent of finding a twenty-four hour copy shop, but to no avail, so we went to Jack-In-The-Box instead and ate and talked for a while. Then we went back home, I started some laundry and opened more booty (the ironic nature of the brutality of opening Onelinedrawing CDs with a 7" Buck Knife was not lost on me) and watched a few episodes of "Strangers With Candy", during which I e-mailed Teresa and initiated contact.

Bryen got tired and decided to turn in, so I went to my room and tried to arrange it in a livable fashion, while listening to my new CDs. In the rotation that evening were Thursday: War All The Time (feat. Jonah Matranga of onelinedrawing on backing vocals on track 8), Far: Water & Solutions, A Perfect Circle: Thirteenth Step (boasting James Iha, though if you'll read the liner notes, you'll notice that he didn't play on the album), Dashboard Confessional: The Places You Have Come To Fear The Most, and rounding out with Jeremy Enigk: Return of the Frog Queen.

I finally laid down at nine-ish and woke promptly at 12:30 to head to work. Work was long and exhausting, and I had Bryen drop me off at Makana's apartment so that we could discuss the new Downsized Show. He wasn't there. I went to the bar around the corner and they said that he had gone to the Casbah, so I walked there, taking an extraneously long route since I didn't really know where I was going. I got there around 1:00am and all the festivities had ended and everyone had vacated. I walked on, dejected, and spotted a bar and stopped in to have a beer and use the restroom. I started reading the new Maggie Estep book that I had bought and then two strangers at the end of the bar bought me a shot. I felt obliged to talk to them at that point, and they turned out to be really cool. We shared a cab back to their place, but before I could climb in the cab and head to my place, they invited me in for a drink. I'm a sucker for free beer. We hung out and talked books, music, philosophy, and the dissappearing distinction of cultural differences until they got tired and I bowed out. I walked to Jack-in-the-Box and got a little bit of food and came here to write this.

I need to wake up in fifty-eight minutes to get ready for the longest day of the week, so it looks like sleep is out of the question.

However, after a long day and a late night and an impending early morning, I feel pretty damn alright. After all, Maggie Estep can help me wile away the rest of the darkness and share the sunrise with me, and then the ever-loving coffee will help me through the day.

Wherever you are, thank you Jill and Greg for rescuing my night and making it so that it wasn't a total loss. Good morning world, or good night, or whatever the fuck you want it to be. As for me and my house, we will live our lives.

4:36 a.m. - 2003-11-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

angryagain
lostwou
nanoericboy
starke-
nanobetty
less-than3
iluvtunes
ensie
margot08
chickenpie
istoba
shallowiris
inkedgal
revisions
cause-ofyou
veryraven
lovemetwice