remove ad

ericboy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Warm Leatherette

The time has come and my wish has been granted: my band will play their first gig on the day after my birthday! I'm excited beyond words. I've played in a band in front of people before, but they were all my friends at a party. This is at a local music venue, where people that I don't know will be coming to see live music and hoping to be impressed. It's up to me to do that, and I look forward to the challenge. We have a little under a month to prepare, and the drummer has already started to exhibit a little healthy panicking. He has reminded us how much work we need to do and he's pressuring us for ideas for the fliers and he wants to get small moonshine jugs made into keychains and oh, so much to do; so little time. I picture him as the white rabbit at the beginning of Alice in Wonderland, while I smile in my own sick way like the Cheshire Cat, happy as a pig in shit!

I look forward to the show, but only as the first of many. I'm set and primed to take over this coastal town, and though I'm confident in our musical ability and the infectious nature of our songs, I think it may take more than one gig to have the entire city bow before us. Two, at least.

So I've already received an ample birthday present. I can't wait to see what the rest of the month holds in store for me. This could be the beginning of something wonderful...

I just knocked on wood. It would be nice if things went well for me. "Warm Leatherette" is playing in the coffee shop but I can't decide if that's a good sign or a bad omen. Time will tell.

1:58 a.m. - 2003-07-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

angryagain
lostwou
nanoericboy
starke-
nanobetty
less-than3
iluvtunes
ensie
margot08
chickenpie
istoba
shallowiris
inkedgal
revisions
cause-ofyou
veryraven
lovemetwice