remove ad

ericboy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Blood on the Thorns of Roses

I feel a great sense of accomplishment. I finished a short story tonight that I started almost four months. The subject matter was unusually heavy and so I always shrank from the threat of working on it. I built this protagonist for five or six pages and then spent the last fifteen breaking him down and turning him into the antagonist. It wasn't easy at all, as he was built to resemble me and, damnit, I kind of liked the fellow. He was witty and a little, I don't know, amiable. But, hey, he had to go.

I e-mailed an interview to jonah of onelinedrawing and I'm waiting on his responses so that I can write an article in anticipation of his show here on the 25th. I can't wait until the show. I've desperately wanted to see this act perform live and I'm hoping to have a word with him after the show to say thanks and whatnot.

I felt particularly good to have finally e-mailed my mom yesterday after a prolonged silence. I miss her terribly and her last message concerned me as she was feeling quite down. I hate to see her hurting, or anyone I care about for that matter, but it happens on occasion and we should all do what we can to, not accept it, but combat it.

I look forward to doing something with this freshly completed opus that grew and grew to unexpected lengths beneath my pen. I think it's a good story but badly in need of editing. I suppose I should eventually try to get one of those. Editors, I mean. If I want to get anywhere in the writing world, I'll need a professional on my side.

The band is damn close to playing a gig, but I'm kind of tired of hearing myself say that. I'd rather type "The band finally played their first gig and it went [blank]" but that has yet to happen. I feel it's around the corner, but it's a long damn corner.

The search for a day job has been crippled by sickness and a lack of resumes, but will re-commence shortly. I desperately need to find more work to keep myself regular and to afford my frivolous rock-n-roll lifestyle. The future looms as inviting though expensive. All concerns aside, I can't wait to see what it has in store for me.

I suppose I should sleep now as tomorrow is rearing its ugly head with 'work' tattoed on its brow. Not to mention that my typing has gone to shit.

Until next time...

4:08 a.m. - 2003-07-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

angryagain
lostwou
nanoericboy
starke-
nanobetty
less-than3
iluvtunes
ensie
margot08
chickenpie
istoba
shallowiris
inkedgal
revisions
cause-ofyou
veryraven
lovemetwice