remove ad

ericboy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Recycled Faces

Yeah! I got through. I'm at the library where everything is quiet, serene, and beneficial. The staff here is always so pleasant and they give great discounts on everything. I picked out some books that they were selling for anywhere from ten cents to a dollar. I grabbed four, not caring about price, and set them on the counter. The guy looked at them, twisted his lips in contemplation and said "A dollar."

"I'll take it", I exclaimed and slid him the bill. I love this city. Here's a poem:

Claire de Lune-

they fed him tax forms until he cried

inked his tears to draft their documents

glassed his jaw

encased his tongue

a sandwich offered, declined

high ceilings and central air

hung on the apple of his throat

dangled 401(k) in one lump sum.

she kept up with the Kerouacs

her X-mas lights always shiny

like a good X-ian

played like a cheap Milton Bradley game

(which are all cheap Parker Brothers rip-offs)

she ripped of "GO!"

and like Cody

died clutching a number.

(not $200)

they burned the noontime kerosene

at either end, they didn't care

readied it all for a gala revelation

Ed Bradley on 60 Minutes

all their doves, fine in a row

released to fly at the drop of a hint

they recycled their faces and slipped away

unnoticed

to this very booth, shadowed in secrecy.

I've really been contemplating the idea of "recycled faces". Have you noticed that everytime you meet someone new they remind you of someone you've already known. I see faces as I walk down the street of people that I swore I saw last year in Texas. It's as if there are only a handful of faces and slight variations are placed upon them to keep the world "fresh". I don't entirely think this is a bad thing, either. People need familiarity to feel like they belong to something. A sharp and drastic change would knock the average person off their rocker and send them into a state of perpetual confusion. Anarchy, I tell you!

Anyway, that's what I think, and I could very well be wrong. It's happened on occasion but I don't like to talk about it. There's something else on my mind, dammit, but it won't surface! I wonder what it could be...

3:41 p.m. - 2003-03-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

angryagain
lostwou
nanoericboy
starke-
nanobetty
less-than3
iluvtunes
ensie
margot08
chickenpie
istoba
shallowiris
inkedgal
revisions
cause-ofyou
veryraven
lovemetwice