remove ad

ericboy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oracle Hosts the Best Parties

I got a new job. I'm a sales representative for an office supply company. I despise it. It's commission-based only and I haven't made a dime yet.

The Super Bowl just ended and I'm going to miss the blimps that have been flying over the city all week long. I'm watching news coverage of the violence related to post-Super Bowl frenzy. What a country!

On Tuesday I walked around downtown during my day of observation before offerred the job that I currently have. The GasLamp Quarter was a hustle and bustle of activity in preparation for Super Sunday. Out-of-towners aplenty were coming to and fro, representing their team and their hometowns. Some surfaced merely to display themselves and their propaganda, knowing that all of America would briefly turn their attention this way. I saw a pick-up truck pass by with a custom wooden camper in the bed. Painted a base blue, the passenger side boasted a painting of the World Trade Center Towers, burning, along with text from the bible and the phrases "HOMOSEXUALITY IS A SIN!" and "GOD WILL SMITE THOSE WHO OPPOSE!"

The back of the camper showed a baby, burned and mutilated, lying on a picnic blanket with the phrase "ABORTION IS MURDER!"

Now, let's approach this logically and with care. I am avidly pro-choice and have no problems with homosexuality. I'm a fan of human nature, despite the undercurrent of pathos that runs through most of their actions and decisions. That being said, I try to respect other people's points of view. I am prone to "conversation", which can seem to some like "confrontation", but I keep in mind that I should respect their view if I expect them to listen to mine. However...

WHAT THE FUCK! THAT WAS THE MOST INSULTING THING I'VE EVER SEEN IN MY LIFE! SHOULD I HAVE TO BE SUBJECTED TO THAT FUCKING INDECENCY AND GROTESQUE INTOLERANCE? I'LL RESPECT YOUR POINT OF VIEW AS LONG AS YOU KEEP YOUR FUCKING MOUTH SHUT!

On a lighter note, Stephanie and I crashed a corporate party the other night. We went to Bayou Grille to catch a jazz band that we'd read about in the local paper. We walked in and addressed the bartender who immediately asked "Are you here for Oracle?" We thought that was the name of the band, so we said "yeah". He then went on to tell us that anything we ordered would be complimentary aside from the dinner menu selections. Puzzled, we said thank you and went outside to smoke a cigarette. I laid down my take on the situation, as, by this time I'd figured out that this was a company party for Oracle, the internet communications company. Stephanie smiled at me slyly and said "You wanna give it a shot?" "Why not?" I replied. We went in and ordered two martinis and sat ourselves down. The funny thing is that I was wearing a maroon t-shirt and Old Navy painter jeans with holes in each leg. At one point, the bartender came outside to rap with us. We spoke a bit about the impending Big Game and San Diego life. Then he asked us "So, it seems like everyone here is from out of town. Is this a convention or something?" Stephanie looked at me oddly and I said "Yeah. It's a big training convention. In fact, Stephanie and I, and one girl down at the end of the bar are the only people here from the San Diego office." Stephanie couldn't resist a little laughter. Then, two guys who actually were with the company came out on the patio to smoke. We powerhoused our cigarettes and ducked back inside before they could make small talk. We eventually had three rounds of drinks before we feared that we might be sniffed out and high-tailed it out of there. She said she'd never done anything like that before, and neither had I. Looking back, it was hella fun and now I have my own little "Fuck Corporate America" and "Welcome to San Diego" story to tell.

9:21 p.m. - 2003-01-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

angryagain
lostwou
nanoericboy
starke-
nanobetty
less-than3
iluvtunes
ensie
margot08
chickenpie
istoba
shallowiris
inkedgal
revisions
cause-ofyou
veryraven
lovemetwice