remove ad

ericboy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Epiphany

I signed up to use a computer at the library but there was an hour and ten minute wait. I knew this little coffeeshop down the way called Urban Grind, with high ceilings and candles lighting the tables. I made the short walk and, on the way, saw several shopping carts that belonged to Henry's Marketplace in front of the Cathedral Arms Apartment Building. Henry's lays on the stretch of road between the library and Urban Grind. As I sat down with my cup of some damn fine coffee and started writing, I was still thinking about those shopping carts. Henry's has signs in their parking lot stating that the carts are for the use of the customers and it would be appreciated if people wouldn't take the carts. I can understand a homeless person looking for a wheeled receptacle to place their few worldly possessions in, but those carts on my mind were most likely wheeled away by the residents of Cathedral Arms, too fucking lazy to carry their own shit and too fucking lazy to bring the goddamn carts back. I thought more on this and it enraged me, then I had an epiphany and a euphoric peace came over me.

I looked back over my own life, over everybody's lives. I thought to myseld, "How many weeks over the course of your life can you look back on and recall a single good thing happenning every day? One week of good things?" I deducted that the answer would not be that many, but if a person could strive to do just one good deed a day, then we could have good weeks, good months, good years forever. I smiled as this revelation hit me. When I left Urban Grind and started making my way towards the library that I'm currently at, I stopped in front of Cathedral Arms and gathered up all of the carts, eight in all, and pushed them the four blocks to Henry's Marketplace. Passersby gave me dirty looks, thinking the guy in the red baseball cap and the sacrilegious shirt must be up to no good. When I got to Henry's the security guard came outside to check me out after I returned the carts. One of the associates outside on his smoke break saw what I was doing and figured it out. He smiled and said thank you, and I told him to think about his own life and strive to do one good deed a day. We could have years, I told him. He smiled again and looked at me like I was crazy, then I came in here and wrote this.

7:09 p.m. - 2003-03-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

angryagain
lostwou
nanoericboy
starke-
nanobetty
less-than3
iluvtunes
ensie
margot08
chickenpie
istoba
shallowiris
inkedgal
revisions
cause-ofyou
veryraven
lovemetwice